Chat support available. Click the chat icon on the bottom right corner to start chatting with us right away!

mSecure Support

Knowledge Base Forums Submit a ticket

Account password or forgotten password issues?

If you can't log in to your mSecure account or are experiencing account password issues, follow the steps below to troubleshoot. 


New to mSecure?

If you've been using mSecure 4 (mobile) or mSecure 3 (desktop) and are new to the updated system, learn about our new account system here.


Understanding Your Account Password & Key

  • Your Account Password and Account Key (QR code) are only accessible by you. They are never stored or shared by mSecure or mSeven Software. 
  • Think of your Account Password and Account Key as a key to a safe - without the correct key, the safe cannot be opened.
  • The only way to decrypt your saved data is by entering your correct Account Password.

If you have forgotten your Account Password or lost your Account Key, the only option is to reset your account.


Warning: Resetting your account permanently deletes your data. Because your data can only be decrypted with your Account Password, there is no way for us to recover it. Only reset if you are locked out of mSecure on every device.


Troubleshooting Login Issues

Check these first:

Account Password:

  • It contains at least 4 characters.
  • There are no typos or extra spaces.
  • You are entering the correct password for this account.

Device Settings:

  • Caps Lock and Num Lock are set appropriately.
  • The keyboard language/region is correct.

If you're signing in the first time, also check:

Email Address:

  • You have an existing mSecure account.
  • The email contains no typos or spaces.
  • You are using the correct email address associated with your account.


Forgot Your Password?

If you can still access mSecure on any device — even with Face ID, Touch ID or Windows Hello — do not reset your account. Change your password within the app instead.

If you are locked out on every device, follow the steps in this article to reset your account. Note that resetting permanently deletes your data.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Can you please tell us how we can improve this article?